HTTPS browsing FAQs
 

Recently, Google updated their Chrome web browser. Any web page that's not served through a connection known as HTTPS is now being marked as “Not-secure”. If you see this message, it means that the page you're on is served through an HTTP connection.
What's HTTP, I hear you ask? HTTP is a way of building webpages that's used all across the internet and is on hundreds of millions of websites. However, HTTP connections aren't secure. This means that they're unsuitable for sending personal information over the internet.

At Virgin Media, we take your privacy and data security very seriously. Whenever you enter any personal information on our checkout or sign into your My Virgin Media account, you'll always be doing so on a secure HTTPS connection.
An HTTPS connection encrypts your data before it's sent to us, helping to keep you and your information safe and secure online. It's easy to check if a website is using an HTTPS connection – check the full website address (it will begin with https://), or look for a padlock icon in the address bar.

You can read more about HTTPS and Chrome at the Google Security Blog here: https://security.googleblog.com/2018/02/a-secure-web-is-here-to-stay.html

Whenever you see the “Not-secure” message in Chrome, it means that the page you're on is served through an HTTP connection. HTTP is a way of building webpages that's used all across the internet and is on hundreds of millions of websites. However, HTTP connections aren't secure. This means that they're unsuitable for sending personal information over the internet.

At Virgin Media, we take your privacy and data security very seriously. Whenever you enter any personal information on our checkout or sign into your My Virgin Media account, you'll always be doing so on a secure HTTPS connection.
An HTTPS connection encrypts your data before it's sent to us, helping to keep you and your information safe and secure online.

Google has more information on how to tell if a connection is secure here: https://support.google.com/chrome/answer/95617?hl=en

Yes. Whenever you enter any personal information on our checkout or sign into your My Virgin Media account, you'll always be using a secure HTTPS connection. This means that your data will be encrypted before it's sent to us. Encryption scrambles your data so that no one can read it, helping keep you and your data safe.

At Virgin Media, we take your privacy and data security very seriously. Whenever you enter any personal information on our checkout or sign into your My Virgin Media account, you'll always be doing so on a secure HTTPS connection. An HTTPS connection encrypts (scrambles) your data before it's sent to us, helping to keep you and your information safe and secure online.

We're also working hard to ensure that our entire website will be served through an HTTPS connection very soon, not just the parts where you can enter personal info.

Our website is a secure place to buy any of our services. But if you'd prefer to speak to an advisor over the phone, you can call us on 0800 952 8046. You can also speak with one of our friendly in-store experts at any of our retail stores.

Find your nearest store here: https://store.virginmedia.com/store-locator.html