Cancelling my Virgin Media contract
How do I cancel my Virgin Media contract?
We're sorry to hear you're thinking of disconnecting your Virgin Media services and if we’ve done something wrong, we’d love the chance to put it right.
There are a few things we think you should know before you contact us.
Four important things you need to know before you leave
Before you make your decision about leaving, there are a few things we want you to be clear about.
1. You may be charged if you’re leaving within your contracted period 1. You may be charged if you’re leaving within your contracted period
If you decide to leave within your minimum contract period, you may be charged outstanding line rental or monthly charges to the end of the contract. See our Terms & Conditions for details.
The minimum fixed term contract period for our services is 9, 12 or 18 months, depending on your particular offer or bundle.
If you're on a 30 day rolling contract or you decide to leave us after your minimum fixed term contract period, you'll just need to give us 30 days' notice.
2. You may need to return your Virgin Media kit 2. You may need to return your Virgin Media kit
3. You’ll lose access to your Virgin Media Mail service 3. You’ll lose access to your Virgin Media Mail service
If you cancel your services we’ll give you access to your Virgin Media Mail account for 90 days before we close it. This should provide enough time for you to save any contacts, emails and files you wish to keep.
4. You may receive a refund on your account 4. You may receive a refund on your account
As you pay for your services in advance, you may be due a refund for services you won’t use. Any usage of TV and phone since your last bill, such as telephone charges or Virgin Movies rentals, will be taken into account before the refund is calculated.
If you're due a refund we'll send this out as a cheque 35 days after your account closed.