Modest Mouse

One of the bands who popularised indie rock during the 1990s and 2000s, Modest Mouse first emerged from Issaquah, Washington in 1993, taking their name from a line in the Virginia Woolf short story The Mark On The Wall. Founded by singer/lyricist/guitarist Isaac Brock with drummer Jeremiah Green and bass player Eric Judy, they released their debut EP Blue Cadet-3, Do You Connect in 1994. They followed it with the album This Is A Long Drive For Someone With Nothing To Think About (1996), but their mainstream commercial breakthrough didn't occur until they'd undergone several personnel changes and released fourth album Good News For People Who Love Bad News in 2004: it included the hit singles Float On and Ocean Breathes Salty. Ex-Smiths guitarist Johnny Marr joined them on their 2007 album We Were Dead Before The Ship Even Sank, which became their first US album chart-topper and produced further hits with Dashboard, Missed The Boat and We've Got Everything. In 2010 they cemented their growing popularity in Europe with headline appearances at the Reading and Leeds Festivals.


Find out about Music On Demand on Virgin Media TV

On the web

Ads by Google