Steely Dan

In 1967 Donald Fagen went into a New York café when he heard someone playing electric guitar inside. There he met the guitarist - Walter Becker - and discovered they shared similar musical tastes in rock and jazz. They formed a songwriting team and worked together in local bands, notably Jay and The Americans, before relocating to California where they became staff songwriters at ABC and formed their own band Steely Dan with guitarists Jeff "Skunk" Baxter and Denny Dias, drummer Jim Hodder and singer David Palmer. Their 1972 debut album Can't Buy A Thrill produced the hit singles Do It Again and Reelin' In The Years and, famed for their attention to detail, they struck gold with the AM rock radio classic Rikki Don't Lose That Number from their third album Pretzel Logic. The other band members left as Fagen and Becker spent more time in the studio producing the classic jazz textures on the Aja album in 1977. Legal disputes led to their split following the release of Gaucho in 1981, but they toured again over a decade later and returned to the studio for the Two Against Nature album (2000) and Everything Must Go (2003).



Find out about Music On Demand on Virgin Media TV

On the web

Ads by Google