TV Highlights

Olivia Colman won't put Broadchurch scripts in bin

Olivia Colman is ''too scared'' to recycle her 'Broadchurch' scripts.

The 40-year-old actress claims the writers of the popular crime drama are so secretive with the plot that she won't put her script in the bin over fear it could be found.

Speaking at Broadcast Press Guild Awards (BPG), sponsored by the Discovery Channel, Olivia said: ''I do [take care with the scripts], most scripts have watermarked copies, and i'm too scared to put them in the recycling.''

Olivia - who revealed series two is scheduled to begin shooting in May - also said the cast agree to strict legal measures to prevent story lines from leaking.

She added: ''It really is [an MI5 operation] you have to sign a legal document so it's all slightly scary.''

Meanwhile, 'Broadchurch' received a hat-trick at the BPG awards ceremony on Friday (28.03.14), after Olivia was honoured Best Actress for her role as detective Ellie Miller, while the show's creator Chris Chibnall won the writer accolade after being recognised for his gripping story lines.

The ITV hit series also scooped the prize for Best Drama.

Among other winners was Oscar-nominee Chiwetel Ejiofor, 36, who landed Best Actor for his performance in 'Dancing on the Edge', and Channel 4's 'Educating Yorkshire' won Best Documentary Series.

The full list of the winners at the Broadcasting Press Guild awards are as follows:

Best Drama Series - 'Broadchurch'

Best Actor - Chiwetel Ejiofor for 'Dancing on the Edge'

Best Actress - Olivia Colman for 'Broadchurch'

Best Writer - Chris Chibnall for 'Broadchurch'

Best Entertainment/Comedy - 'Strictly Come Dancing'

Best Documentary Series - 'Educating Yorkshire'

Best Factual Entertainment - 'Gogglebox'

Breakthrough Award - Jamie Dornan for 'The Fall'

Best Single Documentary - 'Syria: Across the Lines'

Best Single Drama - 'The Wipers Times'

Best Multichannel Programme - 'The Tunnel'

Radio Broadcaster of the Year - 'The Nick Ferrari Breakfast Show'

Radio Programme of the Year - Tweet of the Day

Innovation Award - Sky Television

Harvey Lee Award - Andrew Davies


Ads by Google