Skip to main content

Get ready for an epic year of sport!

Get ready for an epic year of sport!

Stay ahead of the game with our month-by-month guide to the best sporting action on Virgin TV this year

By Chris Miller, Writer

It’s the best of all sporting years – a FIFA World Cup year! But it’s a weird one, because the fabulous global footie fest that usually runs for a month in summer has shifted to the late autumn thanks to the Qatari climate. So will it be an agonising wait for the tournament to start? Of course not, because the rest of 2022 is absolutely chock-full of fantastic sport for you to enjoy!

 

There won’t be a summer football void thanks to the UEFA Women’s Euro 2022 finals. The tournament is being staged in England, but don’t worry if you can’t make it to a match because the whole thing is live on the BBC. Later in the summer the Beeb also has the Commonwealth Games, which brings athletes from 72 nations to Birmingham to compete in 283 events.

 

Plus, of course, there’s all the usual domestic and international football, cricket and rugby, the Formula One and MotoGP seasons, major tennis and golf events, US sports and much much more… all leading up to the World Cup, which kicks off in Al Khor on 21 November! 

 

Here’s our month-by-month guide to all the sporting highlights of the year ahead, which we’ll update throughout the year as more events are confirmed. Bookmark it now to make sure you don’t miss a moment of the action…

 

January
 

Cricket: Men’s T20 Big Bash League

Continues from New Year’s Day, Sky Sports

 

Darts: PDC World Championship Final

Monday 3 January, Sky Sports

 

Cricket: Fourth Men’s Ashes Test – Australia v England

From Tuesday 4 January, BT Sport

 

Cricket: Men’s + Women’s T20 Super Smash

Continues from Wednesday 5 January, BT Sport

 

Football: Africa Cup of Nations

From Sunday 9 January, Sky Sports

 

Snooker: Masters

From Sunday 9 January, BBC + Eurosport

 

Cricket: Fifth Men’s Ashes Test – Australia v England

From Thursday 13 January, BT Sport

 

Tennis: Australian Open

From Sunday 16 January, Eurosport

 

Cricket: First Men’s T20 – West Indies v England

Saturday 22 January, Sky Sports

 

Cricket: Second Men’s T20 – West Indies v England

Sunday 23 January, Sky Sports

 

Cricket: Third Men’s T20 – West Indies v England

Wednesday 26 January, Sky Sports

 

Cricket: Women’s Ashes Test – Australia v England

From Thursday 27 January, BT Sport

 

Cricket: Fourth Men’s T20 – West Indies v England

Saturday 29 January, Sky Sports

 

Cricket: Fifth Men’s T20 – West Indies v England

Sunday 30 January, Sky Sports

 

Basketball: British Basketball Cup Men’s + Women’s Finals

Sunday 30 January, Sky Sports

 

February


Darts: PDC Premier League

Thursday 3 February, Sky Sports

 

Cricket: Women’s Ashes First T20 – Australia v England

Friday 4 February, BT Sport

 

Winter Olympics: Beijing 2022

From Friday 4 February, BBC + Eurosport

 

Rugby Union: Men’s Six Nations

From Saturday 5 February, BBC, ITV + S4C

 

Netball: Superleague

From Saturday 5 February, Sky Sports

 

Cricket: Women’s Ashes Second T20 – Australia v England

Sunday 6 February, BT Sport

 

Football: Africa Cup of Nations final

Sunday 6 February, Sky Sports

 

Cricket: Women’s Ashes Third T20 – Australia v England

Thursday 10 February, BT Sport

 

Rugby League: Super League XXVII

From Thursday 10 February, Sky Sports + Channel 4

 

Cricket: Women’s Ashes First ODI – Australia v England

Saturday 12 February, BT Sport

 

American Football: Super Bowl LVI

Sunday 13 February, BBC + Sky Sports

 

Football: UEFA Champions League Round of 16

From Tuesday 15 February, BT Sport

 

Cricket: Women’s Ashes Second ODI – Australia v England

Tuesday 15 February, BT Sport

 

Football: UEFA Europa League & Conference League Knockout Round Play-offs

From Thursday 17 February, BT Sport

 

Cricket: Women’s Ashes Third ODI – Australia v England

Friday 18 February, BT Sport

 

Football: EFL Carabao Cup Final

Sunday 27 February, Sky Sports

 

March


Darts: PDC UK Open

From Thursday 3 March, Sky Sports

 

Cricket: Women’s World Cup

From Friday 4 March, Sky Sports

 

Motor Racing: MotoGP™ Qatar Grand Prix

Sunday 6 March, BT Sport

 

Cricket: First Men’s Test – West Indies v England

From Tuesday 8 March, Sky Sports

 

Football: UEFA Europa League & Conference League Round of 16

From Thursday 10 March, BT Sport

 

Golf: The Players Championship

From Thursday 10 March, Sky Sports

 

Cricket: Second Men’s Test – West Indies v England

From Wednesday 16 March, Sky Sports

 

Athletics: IAAF World Indoor Championships

From Friday 18 March, BBC

 

Motor Racing: Formula One® Bahrain Grand Prix

Sunday 20 March, Sky Sports

 

Motor Racing: MotoGP™ Indonesia Grand Prix

Sunday 20 March, BT Sport

 

Football: FIFA World Cup 2022 – UEFA Qualification Play-off Semi-finals

Thursday 24 March, Sky Sports + S4C

 

Cricket: Third Men’s Test – West Indies v England

From Thursday 24 March, Sky Sports

 

Motor Racing: Formula One® Saudi Arabia Grand Prix

Sunday 27 March, Sky Sports

 

Cricket: Indian Premier League

From Sunday 27 March, Sky Sports

 

Football: FIFA World Cup 2022 – UEFA Qualification Play-off Finals

Tuesday 29 March, Sky Sports

 

Golf: LPGA Chevron Championship

From Thursday 31 March, Sky Sports

 

April


Cricket: Women’s World Cup Final

Sunday 3 April, Sky Sports

 

Motor Racing: MotoGP™ Argentina Grand Prix

Sunday 3 April, BT Sport

 

Football: UEFA Champions League Quarter-finals

From Tuesday 5 April, BT Sport

 

Football: UEFA Europa League & Conference League Quarter-finals

From Thursday 7 April, BT Sport

 

Golf: US Masters

From Thursday 7 April, Sky Sports

 

Horse Racing: Grand National

Saturday 9 April, ITV

 

Motor Racing: Formula One® Australian Grand Prix

Sunday 10 April, Sky Sports

 

Motor Racing: MotoGP™ Grand Prix Of The Americas

Sunday 10 April, BT Sport

 

Snooker: World Championship

From Saturday 16 April, BBC + Eurosport

 

Invictus Games (postponed from 2020)

From Saturday 16 April, BBC

 

Basketball: NBA Play-offs

From Saturday 16 April, Sky Sports

 

Rugby Union: Women’s Six Nations

From Friday 22 April, BBC + S4C

 

Motor Racing: Formula One® Emilia-Romagna Grand Prix

Sunday 24 April, Sky Sports

 

Motor Racing: MotoGP™ Portugal Grand Prix

Sunday 24 April, BT Sport

 

Football: UEFA Champions League Semi-finals

From Tuesday 26 April, BT Sport

 

Football: UEFA Europa League & Conference League Semi-finals

From Thursday 28 April, BT Sport

 

May
 

Motor Racing: MotoGP™ Spanish Grand Prix

Sunday 1 May, BT Sport

 

Motor Racing: Formula One® Miami Grand Prix

Sunday 8 May, Sky Sports

 

Football: Men’s FA Cup Final

Saturday 14 May, BBC

 

Football: Women’s FA Cup Final

Sunday 15 May, BBC

 

Motor Racing: MotoGP™ French Grand Prix

Sunday 15 May, BT Sport

 

Basketball: British Basketball League Men's + Women's Play-off Finals

Sunday 15 May, Sky Sports

 

Football: UEFA Europa League Final

Wednesday 18 May, BT Sport

 

Golf: US PGA Championship

From Thursday 19 May, Sky Sports

 

Football: Scottish Men’s Cup Final

Saturday 21 May, BBC + Premier Sports

 

Football: EFL League One Play-off Final

Saturday 21 May, Sky Sports

 

Motor Racing: Formula One® Spanish Grand Prix

Sunday 22 May, Sky Sports

 

Football: UEFA Women’s Champions League Final

Sunday 22 May, TBC

 

Tennis: French Open

From Sunday 22 May, Eurosport

 

Football: UEFA Europa Conference League Final

Wednesday 25 May, BT Sport

 

Rugby Union: European Challenge Cup Final

Friday 27 May, BT Sport

 

Football: UEFA Champions League Final

Saturday 28 May, BT Sport

 

Rugby Union: European Champions Cup Final

Saturday 28 May, BT Sport

 

Rugby League: Challenge Cup Final

Saturday 28 May, BBC

 

Football: EFL League Two Play-off Final

Saturday 28 May, Sky Sports

 

Football: EFL Championship Play-off Final

Sunday 29 May, Sky Sports

 

Motor Racing: Formula One® Monaco Grand Prix

Sunday 29 May, Sky Sports

 

Motor Racing: MotoGP™ Italian Grand Prix

Sunday 29 May, BT Sport
 

June


Cricket: First Men’s Test – England v New Zealand

From Thursday 2 June, Sky Sports

 

Golf: US Women’s Open

From Thursday 2 June, Sky Sports

 

Basketball: NBA Finals

From Thursday 2 June, Sky Sports

 

Motor Racing: MotoGP™ Catalunya Grand Prix

Sunday 5 June, BT Sport

 

Cricket: Second Men’s Test – England v New Zealand

From Friday 10 June, Sky Sports

 

Motor Racing: Formula One® Azerbaijan Grand Prix

Sunday 12 June, Sky Sports

 

Golf: US Open

From Thursday 16 June, Sky Sports

 

Cricket: First Men’s ODI – Netherlands v England

Friday 17 June, Sky Sports

 

Rugby Union: Premiership Final

Saturday 18 June, BT Sport

 

Motor Racing: Formula One® Canadian Grand Prix

Sunday 19 June, Sky Sports

 

Motor Racing: MotoGP™ German Grand Prix

Sunday 19 June, BT Sport

 

Cricket: Second Men’s ODI – Netherlands v England

Sunday 19 June, Sky Sports

 

Cricket: First Men’s ODI – Netherlands v England

Wednesday 22 June, Sky Sports

 

Cricket: Third Men’s Test – England v New Zealand

From Thursday 23 June, Sky Sports

 

Golf: Women’s PGA Championship

From Thursday 23 June, Sky Sports

 

Motor Racing: MotoGP™ Dutch TT Assen

Sunday 26 June, BT Sport

 

Tennis: Wimbledon

From Monday 27 June, BBC

 

July


Cricket: Fifth Men’s Test – England v India

From Friday 1 July, Sky Sports

 

Cycling: Men’s Tour De France

From Friday 1 July, ITV, Eurosport + S4C

 

Motor Racing: Formula One® British Grand Prix

Sunday 3 July, Sky Sports + Channel 4

 

Football: UEFA Women’s Euro 2022

From Wednesday 6 July, BBC

 

Cricket: First Men’s T20 – England v India

Thursday 7 July, Sky Sports

 

Cricket: Second Men’s T20 – England v India

Saturday 9 July, Sky Sports

 

Motor Racing: Formula One® Austrian Grand Prix

Sunday 10 July, Sky Sports

 

Motor Racing: MotoGP™ Finnish Grand Prix

Sunday 10 July, BT Sport

 

Cricket: Third Men’s T20 – England v India

Sunday 10 July, Sky Sports

 

Cricket: First Men’s ODI – England v India

Tuesday 12 July, Sky Sports

 

Golf: Open Championship

From Thursday 14 July, Sky Sports

 

Cricket: Second Men’s ODI – England v India

Thursday 14 July, Sky Sports

 

Athletics: IAAF World Championships

From Friday 15 July, Sky Sports

 

Darts: PDC World Matchplay

From Saturday 16 July, Sky Sports

 

Cricket: T20 Blast Finals Day

Saturday 16 July, Sky Sports

 

Cricket: Third Men’s ODI – England v India

Sunday 17 July, Sky Sports

 

Cricket: First Men’s ODI – England v South Africa

Tuesday 19 July, Sky Sports

 

Cricket: The Hundred

From Wednesday 20 July (TBC), Sky Sports + BBC

 

Golf: LET Evian Championship

From Thursday 21 July, Sky Sports

 

Cricket: Second Men’s ODI – England v South Africa

Friday 22 July, Sky Sports

 

Motor Racing: Formula One® French Grand Prix

Sunday 24 July, Sky Sports

 

Cricket: Third Men’s ODI – England v South Africa

Sunday 24 July, Sky Sports

 

Cycling: Women’s Tour De France

From Sunday 24 July, Eurosport

 

Cricket: First Men’s T20 – England v South Africa

Wednesday 27 July, Sky Sports

 

Cricket: Second Men’s T20 – England v South Africa

Thursday 28 July, Sky Sports

 

Commonwealth Games: Birmingham 2022

From Thursday 28 July, BBC

 

Cricket: Third Men’s T20 – England v South Africa

Saturday 30 July, Sky Sports

 

Motor Racing: Formula One® Hungarian Grand Prix

Sunday 31 July, Sky Sports

 

Football: English Football League 2022-23

From Saturday 30 July, Sky Sports

 

Football: Scottish Premiership 2022-23

From Saturday 30 July, Sky Sports

 

Football: UEFA Women’s Euro 2022 Final

Sunday 31 July, BBC

 

August
 

Golf: Women’s Open Championship

From Thursday 4 August, Sky Sports

 

Football: Premier League 2022-23

From Saturday 6 August, Sky Sports, BT Sport + Amazon Prime Video

 

Motor Racing: MotoGP™ British Grand Prix

Sunday 7 August, BT Sport

 

Cricket: First Men’s Test – England v South Africa

From Wednesday 17 August, Sky Sports

 

Motor Racing: MotoGP™ Austrian Grand Prix

Sunday 21 August, BT Sport

 

Cricket: Second Men’s Test – England v South Africa

From Thursday 25 August, Sky Sports

 

Motor Racing: Formula One® Belgian Grand Prix

Sunday 28 August, Sky Sports

 

Tennis: US Open

From Monday 29 August, Amazon Prime Video

 

September


Motor Racing: Formula One® Dutch Grand Prix

Sunday 4 September, Sky Sports

 

Motor Racing: MotoGP™ San Marino Grand Prix

Sunday 4 September, BT Sport

 

Cricket: Third Men’s Test – England v South Africa

From Thursday 8 September, Sky Sports

 

Motor Racing: Formula One® Italian Grand Prix

Sunday 11 September, Sky Sports

 

Motor Racing: MotoGP™ Aragon Grand Prix

Sunday 18 September, BT Sport

 

Motor Racing: Formula One® Russian Grand Prix

Sunday 25 September, Sky Sports

 

Motor Racing: MotoGP™ Japanese Grand Prix

Sunday 25 September, BT Sport

 

October

 

Athletics: London Marathon

Sunday 2 October, BBC

 

Motor Racing: Formula One® Singapore Grand Prix

Sunday 2 October, Sky Sports

 

Motor Racing: MotoGP™ Thailand Grand Prix

Sunday 2 October, BT Sport

 

Darts: PDC World Grand Prix

From Sunday 2 October, Sky Sports

 

Rugby Union: Women’s World Cup

From Saturday 8 October, ITV

 

Motor Racing: Formula One® Japanese Grand Prix

Sunday 9 October, Sky Sports

 

Rugby League: Men’s World Cup

From Saturday 15 October, BBC

 

Rugby League: Women’s World Cup

From Saturday 15 October, BBC

 

Rugby League: Wheelchair World Cup

From Saturday 15 October, BBC

 

Cricket: ICC Men’s T20 World Cup

From Sunday 16 October, Sky Sports

 

Motor Racing: MotoGP™ Australian Grand Prix

Sunday 16 October, BT Sport

 

Motor Racing: Formula One® USA Grand Prix

Sunday 23 October, Sky Sports

 

Motor Racing: MotoGP™ Malaysian Grand Prix

Sunday 23 October, BT Sport

 

Motor Racing: Formula One® Mexican Grand Prix

Sunday 30 October, Sky Sports

 

November


Motor Racing: MotoGP™ Valencia Grand Prix

Sunday 6 November, BT Sport

 

Snooker: UK Championship

From Tuesday 8 November, BBC + Eurosport

 

Motor Racing: Formula One® Brazilian Grand Prix

Sunday 13 November, Sky Sports

 

Motor Racing: Formula One® Abu Dhabi Grand Prix

Sunday 20 November, Sky Sports

 

Football: FIFA Men’s World Cup

From Monday 21 November, BBC + ITV

 

December

 

Darts: PDC World Championships

Date TBC, December, Sky Sports

 

Football: FIFA Men’s World Cup Final

Sunday 18 December, BBC + ITV

 

Watch on the go

Virgin TV customers who subscribe to Sky Sports can watch on the go with the Sky Sports app. Not only will you be able to take your Sky packages with you, but you get in-depth sports coverage, as well as exclusive videos and interviews. On iPad and Android tablets you can also access Sky Sports’ cutting-edge second-screen functions. Download from the Apple app store for iPad or iPhone, or from Google Play.

 

Upgrade to Sky Sports now

Don’t have Sky Sports? You can find out about our Sky Sports package and upgrade here.

 

Don’t have BT Sport?

You can upgrade to our Virgin TV Maxit package online via your My Virgin Media account here and get all 4 BT Sport channels in HD. If you’ve not registered for My Virgin Media or have forgotten your sign in details just head over to myvirginmedia.com.

 

​​How to watch Amazon Prime Video with Virgin TV

Prime Video is available to all Virgin TV customers with a V6 box, powered by TiVo®, and a subscription to the service. Simply sign up to Amazon Prime Video via their website, and you can log in on the box. And because Prime Video is fully integrated into TiVo®, you can search without even going into the app. Just select Search & Discover from the Home menu and type in the name of the show or movie you’re after.

 

Want to subscribe to Premier Sports?

Here’s how you can enjoy even more sport by adding Premier Sports to your bundle…

 

Press Home > Apps & Games > All Apps > TV Channel Upgrades and follow the instructions.

You might also like

TV channels: Channels, content and features available depend on your chosen package. Channel line-ups and content are subject to change at any time and to regional variations.

HD: HD TV set, V HD Box, TiVo box, Virgin TV V6 box or Virgin TV 360 box connected with HDMI cables required for HD channels. Number of inclusive HD channels depends on package.

Premium channels (add-ons): 30 days’ notice required to remove premium channels/packs. Sky Sports SD subscription required to take Sky Sports channels in HD. 

Sky Sports HD channels: Sky Sports HD channels £7 per month when subscribing to Sky Sports SD channels.

Sky Sports website and apps: Only available via the Sky Sports website or apps (for compatible iOS and Android mobiles and tablets) to customers who subscribe to these channels. Maximum of 6 devices can be registered but content can only be viewed on one device at any given time. Live streaming and On Demand requires broadband/WiFi or 3G/4G Internet access. Subject to mobile providers’ terms and conditions, as well as your personal data allowance. Additional charges may apply – please check with your provider to confirm. Watch in the UK or while temporarily in the EU. Selected content may not be available to view. Separate terms and conditions apply to the Sky Sports apps and websites.

BT Sport is included in Maxit TV (Full House TV) and  Ultimate Oomph (VIP bundles) or can be taken as an add-on at additional monthly cost. Premium channels and upgrades must be kept for at least 30 days.

TV Go: Content available to view depends on TV package. Not all channels/content from relevant pack available. Live streaming and On Demand requires broadband/WiFi or 3G/4G access. UK only (or while temporarily in EU). Should the UK leave the EU, we will not be able to provide access outside of the UK. Access via PC, Mac or TV Go App (selected iOS devices and Android™ devices only). Player, Mix and Fun customers: maximum 2 compatible devices per account can watch TV. Full House and VIP customers: maximum 4 compatible devices per account can watch TV.

Amazon Prime Video: Amazon Prime subscription required at extra cost. 18+. Click here for T&Cs.