How to unblock someone on Instagram

Take control of your privacy by learning how to block and unblock someone on Instagram. When it comes to which followers can view, comment and share your content the power is in your hands!

Can you unblock someone on Instagram?

If you’re having second thoughts about blocking another user on Instagram, don’t worry. You can easily take it back. What’s better, it’s a really simple process to unblock someone on Instagram. You can do it in a minute or two right from your phone.

How to block someone on Instagram

The block button on the Instagram app gives you complete control over who can see what you post, allowing you to stop a selected profile from viewing or commenting on your content.

The person you’ve blocked won’t be able to see your posts, your stories or your videos. Plus they’ll no longer have the option to send you a direct messages.

If there’s a certain user’s profile that you want to block on Instagram, follow the easy steps below. More privacy is just a few taps away with the following guide:

  1. Open up the Instagram app on your phone.
  2. Go to the profile of the user you want to block (either by clicking on their username from your feed or their story, or by using the search tool to find them).
  3. Tap on the three dots.
  4. Tap ‘block’ and then tap ‘block’ again to confirm.

How to unblock someone on Instagram on desktop?

Not got your phone handy? The good news is there’s a convenient way to block someone on Instagram from your desktop PC. Here’s how:

  1. Log in to Instagram on your desktop.
  2. Click on the menu (3 dots) then ‘Settings’.
  3. Click on ‘Blocked accounts’
  4. Select the account you want to unblock.

What happens when someone blocks me on Instagram?

If you’re thinking about using the blocking feature on your Instagram profile, you may be wondering what will actually happen. Will they know? What will they see if they search for your profile? If you suspect someone else has blocked you on Instagram, you may have similar questions. Let’s look at what happens when someone blocks you on Instagram.

Instagram doesn’t tell people if you’ve blocked them (and there’s no secret trick for finding out, despite what some third-party apps claim). Instead what happens is the person who has been blocked will no longer be able to find the profile, posts or stories of the person who has blocked them. But what about other things such as likes, comments and direct messages? Let’s find out.

Likes, Instagram photo tags & mentions

If you block someone on Instagram, all their likes and comments will be removed from your posts. This is permanent. Even if you unblock them, you won’t get their previous likes and comments back.

In the future they won’t be able to like or comment on your future content either. Blocking them means Instagram will prevent them from seeing your Instagram photos, captions and stories.

Having said all that, proceed with caution. Even if you’ve blocked someone, they’ll still be able to see any likes or comments you make on public accounts or accounts they follow. Say for example your favourite chart-topping musician or Hollywood actor posts about their latest release on their public profile. If you like the post or leave a comment congratulating them, anyone you’ve blocked will still be able to see what you’ve written.

Direct messages

If you block someone on Instagram, what happens to your direct messages with them?

  • Your direct message history with the person you’ve blocked will stay in your inbox.
  • They’ll no longer be able to send new direct messages to you – and you won’t be able to send messages to their inbox either.
  • If you unblock someone, any messages they sent you while they were blocked won’t be delivered.
  • If you’re in a group message with someone you’ve blocked, Instagram will ask you if you want to leave the group. If you stay, you’ll still receive messages from the person you blocked (but only within the group message thread).

Related articles

Useful links